Previously Unreleased Tom Petty Track Makes Its Debut

“Gainesville,” a previously unreleased single of Tom Petty’s has been released. The song will be part of the new box set An American Treasure, which will consist of 60 songs and is set to hit stores on September 28. “Gainesville” was recorded during the Echo sessions in 1998, however, it failed to make the album. “Echo is supposedly his dark album,” An American Treasure producer Ryan Ulyate told Rolling Stone. “But ‘Gainesville’ is this guy looking back on this early life. It is very self-referential from a guy who has some nostalgia for a simpler time. I love the song. It’s just great, but I can see how it didn’t necessarily fit the vibe of Echo.” An American Treasure is reportedly an exploration of the singer’s catalog that will include lesser-known album tracks, alternate versions of familiar songs, great live moments, and previously unreleased tunes. Petty’s wife Dana, daughter Adria, and former collaborators Mike Campbell, Ryan Ulate and Benmont Tench compiled the selection of songs. Petty died on October 2, 2017 after he was found unconscious at his home in Malibu having overdosed on a variety of medications. His family said the singer was suffering from extreme pain that forced him to overuse medication. Copyright(c) 2018 All Rights ReservedLess «

Check Also

R.E.M. Protests Use Of ‘Everybody Hurts’ In Pro-Trump Twitter Meme

Iconic band R.E.M has protested the use of the band's hit track "Everybody Hurts" for a pro-President Donald Trump meme.More »